Step One: Find a doctor who doesn’t mind if I cry

Well, you should all know that this is my first blog ever. Wow. And now I feel like a little kid again.

*Ahem*… Anyways, I will be using this blog to update people on my daily life in Tanzania. As far as I know, there will be internet cafes close by my home stay location and I will be sure to keep in touch through this website. I’m sure I’ll start to miss home soon enough, and writing this blog will help me to feel connected.

So… Step One: I am supposed to make an appointment with my doctor. Well, that would be easy, if only I had a doctor. You see, I haven’t been to the doctor in about 6 years now. Why is that, you might ask? Well… basically… I don’t like the doctor and I’m stubborn. Trust me, everyone close to me has urged me to go. I just don’t like it there. The smell of sterile equipment makes me feel like I’m about to be the victim of some sort of catastrophe.

Nurse: “Doctor, Stop! That’s Sarah Anderson. She’s only here for a yellow fever shot!”
Doctor looks up from what he thinks is an appendectomy, covered in my blood.

What’s that? I watch too many movies? Well! You don’t know!

Well I’m sure you’ll be happy to know then, that I have to go to a doctor if I want to go to Tanzania. And I have to get shots for everything it seems… Yellow fever, Polio, Hepatitis A and B, Typhoid fever, Tetanus…

Ugh. At this point, I’d rather spend a day in a meat packing plant.

If I’m alive after my visit to the doctors, I’ll try to update this blog. I mean, it might be a challenge after the mistaken surgery, but I’ll try.

 

2 responses

  1. Haha! you sound like me. I finally got a doctor last week. He seems pretty low key and down to earth. Don’t worry too much, just be prepared to tell a doctor that your philosophies don’t mesh so you would like to keep looking for a doctor you can call your own with pride!
    Best of luck, get those shots with a grimace.

  2. Your blog is hilarious, Sarah! I’m sorry I didn’t read it sooner. If you haven’t gone to the doctor yet, here is a suggestion. Your Mom sent me to a doctor in Aldergrove. I liked him, and got in right away. But I thought it was too far, in case I couldn’t drive. I believe his name was Dr. Franklin.
    Ask your Mom. That was about 3 years ago, so I hope she can remember.

    Yes, prayer is of utmost importance, even in these months of preparation. Actually, it’s your heart preparation that is the most important!

    Love, Gramma

Leave a Reply

