No More Excuses

Throughout my teenage years, my older sister always told me that my life should be made into a movie. Not because I am an incredible actor who is waiting to be discovered. Although let’s face it, I’ve always been good at charades.

No, my sister said that my life should be made into a movie because it was dramatic and intense – heartbreaking and laughable. And you know what? I agree with her.

I think that a movie about my life would closely resemble a mix between August Rush, She’s all That, and 8 Mile.

So, how do you even tackle such a hopeful idea? How do you get the process started? If you’re thinking it’s by writing a script, then you and I are on the same page. But you know what? I’ve never had the courage to follow through with it.

I’m a realist, you see. I don’t think that it’s very likely that a script, submitted by an average girl with no connections, would really have a shot of catching someone’s attention. And yes, I know that these things do happen, but realistically my chances are slim. So I’ve never acted on it. I’ve just left the grand idea, swirling around inside my head, unable to experience the reality of rejection or approval.

Today, when I read the instructions for the writing challenge – “Ship it. Put something out there, anything. Don’t wait; move something forward. If it’s a big project, you don’t have to finish the whole thing; just finish part of it” – I thought of my life as a movie. I felt that pang in my gut telling me to submit a script. Just do it.

I wrote it out once. The event in my life that started it all for me. It wasn’t earth shattering writing, but I got it on paper. I’ve just always made excuses for why I shouldn’t submit it yet: “I don’t know where to submit it,” “It’s not ready yet,” “I don’t have an ending yet.” But Jeff Goins is right. I just need to ship it. Get it out there. Allow the chips to fall where they may.

Here goes nothing. I’m off to submit my story to someone, somewhere, and that’s that.

4 responses

  1. Totally want to hear more (of the story itself, and how the story of your submission goes). We’ll be the first to be in line to watch in on the big screen! :)

Leave a Reply

