Choice Ramblings

When I was about six years old, both of my sisters got chicken pox. I remember it well because it made me quite upset. Why didn’t I get to have chicken pox?

My foolproof plan? I decided to help them scratch their itchy spots. I also happily volunteered to sleep in their beds with them. But all of my scheming came to nothing in the end. I didn’t get chicken pox, and to this day, I still haven’t had them.

Years later, at age 13, my beautiful older sister started modelling. I wasn’t able to go to New York or L.A. with her. And even though I tried to be the best weasel that there ever was, I was still unable to weasel my way onto the airplane with her to Japan.

Last year, my younger sister embarked upon an epic adventure all across Europe. And success!! *fist pumps the air* I was able to fandangle my way into her trip. I met up with her in Greece, and we had a whole whirlwind adventure of our own. Let me tell you – getting groped by a 50 year old married man who barely speaks any English, is definitely a scenario in which you want to have your sister close at hand for.

So is that it? Have I dealt with my need to be included? Have I figured it out?

Hah. Not likely. But I have discovered that it all comes down to choices. I can choose to let it bother me – being left out of things – or I can choose to let it go.

Every day is made up of choices. We are able to choose to be more positive, less selfish, and more approachable. We can choose to let go of our misguided childhood beliefs, and choose to be realistic with ourselves and accept where we are at.

A very wise and Princely fellow recently reminded me that we are the ones who choose where our lives take us. There are multiple sides to each one of us, and we ultimately make choices everyday which determine our behaviour and our attitude.

Right now? I’m choosing to procrastinate packing the boxes in my bedroom. It’s not making me feel very good – even though I am enjoying this writing – and yet, here I am, typing away.

Anyways, my point is this: Our lives are a result of the choices we make – and even of the choices we don’t make. So just remember that the next time you’re in a difficult situation. You can choose to be who you want to be.

Who do I want to be? I want to be a character in a new Harry Potter/Lord of the Rings/James Bond Book Series. Wow. What an epic tale that would be, huh?! Don’t worry mom – I’m only half serious.

Leave a Reply

