Salt Water and Toffee Footprints

I went to the beach today.

It is October.

The sand was cold and wet.

I was in a soulful mood. Searching.

A Great Dane clumsily lumbered along slippery stones.

Sea birds echoed on the wind.

Salt water splashed.

It is the perfect strip of sand for me to land on. I’ve found what I needed.

A man stops me.

He gently brushes the hair out of my eyes, and with a knowing smile, turns his rugged toffee loafers around and walks silently back across the sand.

I stand there. Perplexed. As I begin to smile, he turns, gives me a slight nod, and vanishes into the rocks.

“Thank you.” I whisper into the fog.

Leave a Reply

